Anoraak

Contemporary disco
Label Partyfine
Email Quentin Schaming

Anoraak is the musical project of French musician Frédéric Rivière, multi instrumentalist, singer, producer and DJ. Now based in Marseille and originally from Nantes, he was a member of the band Pony Pony Run Run as well as the Valerie Collective founded by College. Coming from the indie rock scene at first, he later came to electronic music in 2008, starting the Anoraak project. 

Formerly identified with the early retro-synth driven scenes that later inspired the classic movie Drive’s soundtrack, his sound is described as “dreamy synth-filled tracks that fall somewhere on the spectrum between disco and new wave” , “contemporary but retro-tinged”.

With 3 eponymous albums under his belt, numerous eps and collaborations with artists such as the Scottish enchantress Siobhan Wilson, Danish sensation Lydmor, American singer Slow Shiver, to name only a few & remixes for Satin Jackets, Neon Indian, Mika, Anoraak has set himself in the last years as a leading force in the “sunset inspired disco and synthpop” with well over 27 Million streams across all platforms & placements on staple Netflix series You & Atypical.

Anoraak has performed at major global music festivals and events, including SXSW, Noise Music Festival, Festival les Inrocks, Electric Daisy Carnival in addition to headlining his own tours around the world.

April 2020 saw the release of Anoraak’s first EP in over two years through Yuksek’s Partyfine label imprint, introducing French for the first time in his catalogue. It features the vocal talents of the sultry Sarah Maison, invoking mid tempo 4 to the floor 70’s infused jams. For this EP, Anoraak follows his heart and instinct to get back to his first and long lasting love for disco, letting aside his usual synth tool kit to give place to a rather organic sounding material. This one is the first of many more to come next.

Figure

Gang feat. Sarah Maison

Livestream dj set

Anoraak

Disco contemporaine
Label Partyfine
Email Quentin Schaming

Anoraak est le projet musical du français Frédéric Rivière, multi instrumentiste, chanteur, producteur et DJ. Désormais basé à Marseille et originaire de Nantes, il était membre du groupe Pony Pony Run Run ainsi que du collectif Valerie. Issu de la scène rock indé, il s’est ensuite tourné vers la musique électronique en 2008, démarrant le projet Anoraak.  

Autrefois assimilée à la scène retro synth mise en lumière à la faveur de la bande originale du film Drive, sa musique est décrite comme étant « synthétique et romanesque, quelque part entre disco et new wave, un son contemporain habillé d’une patine rétro ». 

Avec 3 albums éponymes à son actif, de nombreux EPs et collaborations avec des artistes tels que l’écossaise Siobhan Wilson, la sulfureuse danoise Lydmor, le chanteur US Slow Shiver, pour n’en nommer que quelques-uns et des remixes pour Satin JacketsNeon Indian ou Mika, Anoraak s’est imposé au cours des dernières années comme (un des) chef(s) de file de la disco et synth pop avec plus de 27 millions de streams sur toutes plateformes réunies et placements sur les séries phares Netflix You & Atypical.

Anoraak a joué dans les principaux festivals et événements musicaux mondiaux, notamment SXSWNoise Music Festival, le Festival des InrocksElectric Daisy Carnival en plus de tournées headline à travers le monde. 

En avril 2020 et après 2 ans d’absence, Anoraak sort un nouvel EP sur le label de YuksekPartyfine. Pour ce projet, il fait équipe avec l’envoûtante amazone Sarah Maison, chanteuse française, pour deux titres entraînants puisant leurs sources dans la disco des années 70. Suivant son coeur et son instinct, Anoraak revient à son amour fondateur et de longue date pour la disco. En laissant de côté son attirail synthétique habituel, il fait place à une production plus organique. 

Figure

Gang feat. Sarah Maison

Livestream dj set